{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from April 2012

23rd April 2012 11:06

20 April 2012

Matt Green won the Stags Supporters Association Player of the Year and is pictured below receiving his trophy from SSA committee members.
(from left to right) Helena Lord, Dean Foulkes, Matt Green, Paul Taylor, Keiran Dove, Kieran Halpin-Danby and Jessica Burt.
(photo by James Williamson)

Green won by a slim margin from Luke O'Neill.

Matt Green also won the Ollerton Stags Supporters Club Player of the Year, although it was initially incorrectly announced before the Wrexham game as Luke O'Neill.

Green was also voted player of the year by posters on the Stagsnet messageboard. Green picked up 186 votes, followed by Luke O'Neill who picked up 180 votes, and Ross Dyer who picked up 72 votes, out of 620 votes cast.

Luke O'Neill picked up an award for most man of the matches awarded by sponsors in home games. The award was renamed as the Emma Stamp Memorial Trophy and presented by Emma's Dad.
(photo by James Williamson)

Pictured below is Scott Rogers, the winner of the Jack Retter Trophy, awarded to the Stags Youth Team Player of the season, as chosen by Mark Hemingray (Youth Team manager) and Mark Lynk (Youth Team coach). Presenting the trophy is SSA President Paul Taylor.
(from left to right) Mark Lynk, Steve Hymas, Paul Taylor, Scott Rogers, Mark Hemingray and Mark Hawkins.
(photo by James Williamson)
Previous winners of the Jack Retter trophy can be found here.


Latest | April 2012