{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from May 2006

2nd May 2006 10:22


Date: Sunday 30th April 2006

Report by Paul Samuel-Camps at the Carnavon Street Ground-Home of Teversal FC.

FTYBR FC 3-9 Mansfield Town All-Stars

FTYBR FC: Baxter, Hoult, Ploughman.
All-Stars : Greenacre (2), Walker (2), Williams (Hat-trick), Kearney, Laverick.

Attendance: 460

An outstanding attendance of 460 came to Teversal FC on Sunday 30th April to witness a charity match take place between Follow The Yellow Brick Road FC, a team of Mansfield Town Supporters who play in the IFA (Internet Football Association) league, and Mansfield Town All-stars, a team full of Mansfield Town Legends ranging over the past three decades. The match was in aid of the Notts City Bone Marrow Transplant Unit and over £2,000 was raised for the charity at the end of the day.

FTYBR manager Steve Hartshorn was hoping his side would put in a better performance then the previous day's result after losing to Bury 6-0. Returning to the squad to play against the All-Stars was Daniel Westwell, who played in goal for FTYBR for 10 years appearing in just over 100 matches.

The first half saw a lot of action with the All-Stars dominating possession, Chris Greenacre providing chances for the side but they could not break through the solid defence of FTYBR. When they did break through though Daniel Westwell, in goal, pulled off some cracking saves. But it wasn't long before the All-Stars took a deserved lead; a through ball by the midfield of All-Stars meant Ryan Williams could break through the FTYBR defence and smash a half-volley on the bounce leaving Dan Westwell with no chance.

The FTYBR side started to pick up the pace though, using the wings to try and get some crosses into the box but no one could connect with the crosses to test the All-Stars keeper, Ian Bowling.

But after not taking there chances disaster struck for the FTYBR side. Ryan Williams had made a bursting run into the FTYBR penalty box but got upended by James Brown, giving referee Alister Linsey, no choice but to point to the penalty spot. The upended player, Ryan Williams, stepped up to take the penalty and sent Dan Westwell the wrong way with a cheeky chip but Dan managed to get to hand to it but Ryan wasn't going to miss the rebound within the 6-yard box.

It was nearing half-time and it was 2-0 to the All-Stars side, a few substitutions were made to the FTYBR side, and they pressurised to get a goal before the half-time whistle and it did finally come. A cross from the right wing by Dave Baxter went straight through the All-Stars penalty box and Ian Hoult managed to get a foot onto the ball to guide into the net to make it 2-1 to the All-stars at half-time.

Half-Time 2-1

The players of both teams returned to the pitch for the second half with the score at 2-1 to the All-Stars. The All-Stars started the half brightly with continued pressure on the FTYBR defence and they did manage to score even more goals in the 2nd half of the game.

Chris Greenacre managed to get two goals using his skill, pace and shot-power, Ryan Williams managed to complete his hat-trick with a goal, Jamie Walker scored two goals, Mark Kearney got a goal and so did Mick Laverick.

But the FTYBR side did manage to pull two goals back through Craig Ploughman and Dave Baxter, and had it not been for Dan Westwell, who later came off to a round of applause by the 460 spectators after being replaced by Paul Samuel-Camps, then the All-Stars tally would have been into double-figures even though they had two goals disallowed, one for offside and the other for obstruction Jamie Walker clearly shouting, 'leave it'.

The referee blew for the full whistle with the final score 9-3 to the Mansfield All-Stars.

Full-Time 9-3

Man Of The Match: Daniel Westwell

Report by Paul Samuel-Camps at the Carnarvon Street ground-Home of Teversal FC.

Amber shirts/blue shorts/amber socks
Daniel Westwell
Ady Coupe
Andy Holmes
Wayne Sharpe (C)
Jamie Wheatman
Scott Latkowski
Michael Scothron
James Bird
James Brown
Drew Strokes
Dave Cross
Phil Waddington
Martin Clark
Craig Ploughman
Ian Hoult
Dave Baxter
Gary Bird
Conor Tyldsley
Paul Samuel-Camps
James Brunt
Craig Kerry
Daz Plume

White shirts/yellow shorts/white socks
Ian Bowling
Chris Greenacre
Jamie Walker
Ryan Williams
Mark Kearney
Mick Laverick
Stuart Watkiss
Colin Foster
Steve Spooner
Neil Richardson
Les McJannet
Steve Wilkinson
Simon Coleman
Kevin Bird
Sandy Pate
Jimmy McCaffrey
Billy Dearden

Referee: Mr Alister Linsey

Official Match Sponsors: Abacus Lighting and http://www.lighting4sport.com
Special thanks to Steve and Emma Hartshorn, James Brunt and Teversal FC and Hero who provided both teams with full replica retro kit.


Latest | May 2006