{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from August 2005

16th August 2005 12:27

Republic of Ireland under-21 manager Don Givens has called three eircom League players up to his squad for Tuesday afternoon's friendly against Northern Ireland in Lurgan.

Five players withdrew from Givens's initial squad following the weekend's action in England and Scotland.

Leicester City defender Paddy McCarthy, midfielders David Bell (Rushden & Diamonds) and Darren Potter (Liverpool), Manchester City winger Willo Flood and Celtic forward Aiden McGeady are all ruled out.

Into the panel comes UCD centre half Conor Kenna, Drogheda United's ex-Arsenal midfielder Stephen Bradley and Bohemians forward Stephen Ward, as well as Arsenal reserve team midfielder Patrick Cregg and Mansfield Town's Stephen Dawson.

The three eircom League players take the number of home-based players in Givens's squad to five, with Kenna, Bradley and Ward joining Cork City's Roy O'Donovan and Stephen Paisley of Longford Town in the 18-strong panel.

Republic of Ireland under-21 squad (revised):

Goalkeepers: Henderson (Aston Villa), Deeney (Notts County).

Defenders: Kelly (Tottenham Hotspur), Foley (Luton Town), Kenna (UCD), Fitzgerald (Bury), Paisley (Longford Town), Sheehan (Leicester City).

Midfielders: Bradley (Drogheda United), Cregg (Arsenal), Whelan (Sheffield Wednesday), O'Brien (Bolton Wanderers), Dawson (Mansfield).

Forwards: Doyle (Reading), Murphy (Sunderland), Tabb (Brentford), O'Donovan (Cork City), Ward (Bohemians)
Update - Dawson is not in the starting 11 for the game today.


Latest | August 2005