{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from November 2006

26th November 2006 22:26

After convincingly beating fellow League Two opponents Grimsby Town in the previous round, the Stags now travel to Darlington for a quarter-finals clash in the northern section of Johnston Paint Trophy, previously named LDV Vans Trophy, and even earlier Freight Rover Trophy, a competition that the Stags won in 1986-87 under the name of Freight Rover Trophy, / also called Associate Members Cup/ when penalizing a Bristol City side which included a recent Mansfield manager, Keith Curle, who was Stags manager by the time of penalizing the Quakers in the First Round at home two seasons ago..

But this was the first time the Stags had beaten Darlington in any cup competition. And one game in the then Associate Members Cup was played on February 21, 1984, when the lowest post-war crowd for a Stags home game, a paltry 1086, watched the Quakers win 3-1, the Stags goal coming from a Barrowclough penalty.

And the sides have also clashed once in the FA Cup as well. This happened in the 1986-87 seasons, when the sides were above the basement division at the same time for only the second occasion, the first one being exactly twenty years earlier, the 1966-67 season. On November 16, 1986, just 2119 at Feethams watched Darlington go through to a 2-1 scoreline, Stags scorer George Foster.

Earlier this season, the Stags beat Darlington by the only goal of the game, Stags scorer Reet, in a League Two encounter at Field Mill. For more details, see the Match Centre.

For details on previous League games between the sides, see numerous Stagsnet statistical previews over the last couple of seasons. Anyway, the Quakers have conceded more than a century of League goals, 108 in all, since 1932-33 at Field Mill.

Played for both sides: Matthew Carmichael, Gary Chapman, John Downie, Steve Harper, Ian Juryeff, Fred Laycock, John McClelland, Les McJannet, Lawrie Madden, Terence Melling, John Moore, Kenneth Murray, Francis O'Connor, James O'Neill, Stanley Peach, John Reed, Mark Rhodes, Arthur Sharp.

Billy McEwan, who played for the Stags in 1976-77, was Darlington manager in 1992-93.

Results from previous cup games:

1978-79 0-1 1978-08-12 League Cup 1st round at Field Mill
1978-79 2-2 1978-02-15 League Cup 1st round at Feethams, Darlington through 3-2 on aggregate
1983-84 1-3 1984-02-21 Associate Members Cup, 1st round at Field Mill
1985-86 0-3 1986-03-27 Associate Members Cup. 1st round at Feethams
1986-87 1-2 1986-11-16 FA Cup 1st round at Feethams
2004-05 0-0 2004-09-28 LDV Vans Trophy 1st round at Field Mill
(Stags through 4-3 on penalties)

Svante Bernhard aka Sweden Stag (pictured, above right)


Latest | November 2006