{ the forum }

An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC

Obvious what is wrong!!!

Discuss all things Stags and Football League Two, and share stuff using our BBCodes.
Forum rules
Please read the Posting Rules before participating. Posting on the forums is subject to adhering to these.
Also, see the Guidelines for Posting. Moderators may sometimes tidy posts which do not follow these customs.

Obvious what is wrong!!!

Postby thefamilyvontrapp » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:24 pm

.....it seems to me that the main problems we are suffering as a team is our defensive mistakes!!!
Now I'm no expert but why do we seem to be second to the the ball in defence(always in the last 10 minutes)? Are we guilty of switching off or do we not trust our goalkeeper Etc etc??
Maybe we need to understand that this league isn't for the taking!!!!! Discuss....
thefamilyvontrapp
First Team
First Team

Re: Obvious what is wrong!!!

Postby bmthstag » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:30 pm

I think we need a defensive midfielder like Jamie McGuire who can do the horrid bits of the game and break the opposition play up and also give some protection to the back four. Someone with years of experience would be even better.
We also need a settled side, be that personnel or tactics/shape.
bmthstag
Youth Team
Youth Team

Postby Jamie » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:35 pm

My view would be an overall lack of fitness... If Evans wants a high pressure, high tempo game then we need to be fit enough to do that for 90 mins.

Also most already knew this league wasn't just there for the taking... Well certainly those who live in the real world.

To get top 3 in L2 you need more than just a load of players with higher league / promotion experience. You need to be fit, work hard and be consistent as well as have the quality to beat teams.
Jamie
Manager
Manager

Postby Tippy Tappy Football » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:56 pm