{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from July 2005

9th July 2005 16:16

BBC Sport :
Beeks is elected to League board

Wycombe chairman Ivor Beeks has been elected as League Two's new representative on the Football League's board of directors.

He was voted in ahead of Macclesfield chairman Rob Bickerton and Mansfield chief Keith Haslam.

Beeks replaces Southend chairman Ron Martin, who steps down from the board after their promotion to League One.

"I'm happy to represent the other clubs of the league to the best of my ability," he told Wycombe's website.

The League's eight-man board contains six representatives from the 72 League clubs, as well as League chairman Lord Mawhinney and independent non-executive director Ian Ritchie.

The Championship has three representatives - David Sheepshanks (Ipswich), Theo Paphitis (Millwall) and Terry Robinson (Sheffield United).
League One's clubs are represented by Blackpool chairman Karl Oyston and Colchester's Peter Heard - while Beeks is League Two's sole representative.


Latest | July 2005