{ the news }
An independent supporters' website dedicated to Mansfield Town FC
Archived News from August 2004

28th August 2004 11:24

The Stags were drawn at home to Darlington in the first round of the LDV Vans Trophy.

First-round ties will take place in the week commencing 27 September.
Quartet handed LDV byes
BBC website
Oldham, Tranmere, Northampton and Swindon have been given byes through to the second round of this season's LDV Vans Trophy.
The quartet - two from each of the northern and southern sections - were announced on Thursday after a pre-draw at the Football League's operations centre.

The full draw for the first round will take place on Saturday, 28 August.

As in previous seasons, all the teams in Leagues One and Two have been joined by 12 Conference teams, and divided into northern and southern sections.

The invitations to Conference teams are based on their final league positions from last season - but clubs must meet the Football League's admission criteria of a capacity of 5,000, including 1,000 seats.

Last season's final saw Blackpool beat Southend 2-0 in front of 34,031 at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium.

Northern section first round teams:
Barnsley, Blackpool, Bradford, Bury, Chester, Chesterfield, Darlington, Doncaster, Grimsby, Hartlepool, Huddersfield, Hull, Lincoln, Macclesfield, Mansfield, Notts County, Port Vale, Rochdale, Scunthorpe, Sheffield Wednesday, Stockport, Wrexham, Accrington, Carlisle, Hereford, Morecambe, Scarborough, York.

Byes: Oldham, Tranmere.

Southern section first round teams:
Boston, Bournemouth, Brentford, Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Cambridge, Cheltenham, Colchester, Kidderminster, Leyton Orient, Luton, Milton Keynes Dons, Oxford, Peterborough, Rushden & Diamonds, Shrewsbury, Southend, Swansea, Torquay, Walsall, Wycombe, Yeovil, Aldershot, Barnet, Dagenham & Redbridge, Exeter, Stevenage, Woking.

Byes: Northampton, Swindon.

First-round ties will take place in the week commencing 27 September.


Latest | August 2004